With Solidarity

Allison Currier: 

Living in a world with deep social and environmental injustice, it was never my choice to stand up against it.  I was raised in a home where equality and helping others were forefront.  When I came to Ithaca College, I had no hesitation to get involved in relevant issues on campus.  As I started learning more about environmental justice, I became infatuated.  I will not stand to live in a world where my comfortable lifestyle is at the cost of people’s livelihoods on the other side of our global community.  I will not support an industry that puts my Central American, Asian, African or fellow American sisters and brothers at risk.  And I will first and foremost not let my college invest its money in the fossil fuel industry that is marginalizing innocent people.

Last week I was awarded the Newman Civic Fellow Award by President Rochon. I want to take this time to thank him for this honor.  As explained on the Campus Compact website, “The Newman Civic Fellows Award honors inspiring college student leaders who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country.”  I was surprised when I heard the news that Rochon had selected me personally for this prestigious award.

That being said, divestment is a part of who I am.  Living in a world of privilege, the IC community has a duty to hold its values of social and environmental justice high.  We have done this before when we divested from Apartheid and will divest again from Fossil Fuels!

In social movements, we don’t ask for change, we make change.  We are no longer asking or demanding Ithaca College divest from the fossil fuel industry.  In my opinion, we are simply divesting.  With allies in all corners of the IC community, we are not afraid of being told “no” or that divestment is “impossible” because that is just not the truth. Check out our most recent correspondence with Carl Sgrecci, the VP of Finance and Investment for Ithaca College.

So thank you again, President Rochon, for choosing me, Allison Currier, student organizer and activist, to lead the way for other aspiring college students to divest Ithaca College from the fossil fuel industry and create a just world for all.

Leave a Reply

